Cream Cheese & Cucumber Cupcakes

IMG_4075For treats for The Importance of Being Earnest, I made the most lovely cupcakes inspired by Aunt Augusta (and Algy’s) love of cucumber sandwiches. A plain vanilla cake, I topped it off with a zingy cream cheese frosting which is so easy to make and seriously about 10,000 times more tasty than store bought:

Cream Cheese Frosting:

1 package (8 ounces) of cream cheese: room temp or softened.

1/4 stick unsalted butter, which is half a stick: room temp or softened. (I had a long chat with my mother-in-law last month about unsalted versus salted butter.  She uses salted for everything.  I use unsalted for everything, especially baking.  I like to control how salty my dishes will be.)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 pinch of salt

1-2 cups of confectioners sugar

Cream together cream cheese and butter until smooth and creamy.  Blend in pinch of salt and vanilla extract.  Gradually add in confectioner sugar until your reach the consistency you want.  I like my frosting to be not too stiff, but not too runny either.  You can sift your sugar if you’re worried about lumps.  I didn’t bother this time around.

Using a piping bag, pipe the cooled cupcakes with your cream cheese delightfulness.  Then pipe the leftovers into your mouth, perhaps for breakfast like I did.

I then topped my cupcakes with sliced cucumber.  If I were to do this again, I would not put the cucumber on top until I was ready to served the cupcakes and then I would only top the ones that were going to be consumed immediately.  I ended up having to throw out a few of the cakes when the cucumber topping got gross and leached into the cake.  Oh, well.  Now I know!

I didn’t serve any specialty tea in July because, well, I forgot!

The cakes were still delicious and the cucumber/cream cheese combo was something of which Algernon and Aunt Augusta would have definitely approved.

IMG_4076

Leave a Reply

