Green Mile Yums

IMG_3779For our discussion of Stephen King’s The Green Mile, I wanted to make something lovely and Southern. I had considered, briefly, making chili for the gang based off of poor Eduard Delecroix’s request for a last meal: “. . . he had ordered chili for his last meal and gave me special instructions for the kitchen. ‘Tell em to lay on dat hot-sauce,’ he said. ‘Tell em the kind dat really jump up your t’roat an’ say howdy – the green stuff, none of dat mild . . . I can’t get off the toilet the nex’ day, but I don’t think I gonna have a problem this time, n’est-ce pas?’” (page 239).  I, myself, am not fond of anything too spicy, and I wouldn’t do that to my Steepers. 

Toward the end of the novel, Paul decides that John “would also have Mrs. Janice Edgecombe’s peach cobbler for dessert.” (page 490) and I thought,  yum.  I can do that.  Well, I had previously made a traditional Peach Cobbler way back in 2012 for Confederates in the Attic.  Someday, I may have to repeat a recipe, but I decided that that time was not yet upon us! Instead, I thought I’d treat the gang to a cream cheese peach crumble.

George eats earlyIt was a great choice.  Usually, we don’t break into the treats until the whole group is assembled and I explain what we’re eating.  Apparently, this time around, Steeper George thought dessert looked too delicious not to dive right in as soon as he arrived.  I guess there can be no greater compliment to the baker!

These bars are delicious, with a nice crumble top and lovely cream cheese base.  Now I adapted my recipe off of the one over at chocolatemoussey.com and they call these “bars.”  We did not find that this was a treat you could eat with your fingers.  We usually offer any left overs to the on duty library staff, but this was so good, I have to admit I took it home to finish. Had I been able, I would have served this with a scoop of vanilla or cinnamon ice cream.

Cranberry PromenadeFor our specialty tea, I was quite amused with myself.  I know I keep swearing that I will not continue to buy tea for our book club meetings.  I have three large totes filled to the brim with loose tea alone, not to mention the bagged tea in our home.  This time however, I really couldn’t help myself.  When considering what I would serve, I thought, oh, I’ll do a green tea.  Green Mile=green tea, easy enough.  Well, then it occurred to me that a major plot point revolves around Paul Edgecomb’s urinary tract infection, which made me thing how cranberry is supposed to be good for the urinary tract.  That got me thinking, could I find a cranberry green tea?! Turns out, yes!  I certainly could.

I ordered this Cranberry Promenade Green Tea from an organic tea company called BrewLeaf through Amazon.  I must admit that I was pretty frustrated because I didn’t think it would arrive on time.  Lucky me; as I was leaving for work on the day of book club, the tea had just arrived to my mailbox! This tea was really nice, perfect without any additive, the craisin chunks gave it just enough sweetness. I definitely think this is one that would work great iced.  Definitely recommended.

IMG_3782Cream Cheese Peach Crumble

Serves about 16

Crust:

  • 1 ½ c all-purpose flour
  • ½ c granulated sugar
  • ½ tsp ground cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp ground cardamom
  • ¼ tsp ground nutmeg
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • ½ c (one stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1 egg

Cheese cake

  • 1 package (8 ounces cream cheese), softened.
  • ¼ c granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 vanilla bean, scraped
  • 1 large can peach pie filling

Instructions:

Crust:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Line 8 x 8 pan or casserole dish with parchment paper.
  3. Mix dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Using pastry blender, cut in butter until the dough resembles sandy pebbles.
  4. Cut in egg.
  5. Set aside about ½ cup of crumble mixture and press the rest into the bottom of pan.

Cheese cake

  1. Beat cream cheese and sugar together until smooth. Mix in egg and vanilla.
  2. Scrape the caviar from one vanilla bean and blend until caviar is well incorporated.
  3. Pour mixture over crust and spread to edges.
  4. Pour peach (or any flavor pie filling) over the cream cheese mixture.
  5. Sprinkle remaining crumb mix over the top.
  6. Bake approximately 35 minutes. Crumble should be a golden brown.

Let cool and serve.  I was able to refrigerate the leftovers (covered), but I don’t know how long it’ll last since I ate it within about two days!

Leave a Reply

