The Irish Cream Brownies of Deliverance Dane

There wasn’t too much in The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane that I wanted to make for book club. We happened to be meeting on St. Patrick’s Day, so I figured it was the perfect opportunity to make something with some Irish flare . . . by which, of course, I mean Irish Cream!

I adapted a lovely recipe that I found through pinterest at Wonky Wonderful (don’t you just love that blog name?! I sure do!) For my brownies, I used my silicone two-bite brownie pan. I also decided to pipe the frosting on directly before serving . . . which was an amazing idea because I was able to squeeze frosting directly from the piping bag into my mouth. Sorry for the lack of picture . . . we ate all the brownies before I could take one. I’ll make them again sometime soon and add a photo. Delicious!

Brownies (makes about 3 ½ dozen in two-bite silicone pan)

½ c unsweetened cocoa powder
1 c flour (all-purpose)
1 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
½ c (1 stick) melted unsalted butter
1 c sugar
2 eggs
½ c Irish Cream (I used Bailey’s)

Frosting

½ c (1 stick) softened unsalted butter
1 ½ c confectioner’s sugar
2 Tbsp Irish Cream
2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
A drop of skim milk

I like to start by leaving a stick of butter out to soften while I’m prepping the brownies.

For brownies:

  • Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray brownie pan with non-stick spray and set aside.
  • In medium bowl, mix cocoa, flour, baking powder & salt. Set aside for now.
  • Using electric mixer (I live for my Kitchen Aid, but a hand mixer will work too), mix sugar & melted butter until incorporated.
  • Keep mixing while adding dry ingredients slowly, scraping sides as needed.
  • Evenly spoon batter into pan (about 1 ½ tablespoons per opening)
  • Bake approximately 20minutes, you’ll know it’s done when a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  • Set aside to cool. Once cool, pop out of pan carefully.

For Frosting:

  • Cream together softened butter and confectioner’s sugar until light & fluffy (approx. 2-3 minutes depending on the consistency of your butter)
  • Beat in Irish cream & cocoa powder until incorporated. I added a about ½ teaspoon skim milk to get the correct consistency.

I put the frosting in a piping bag and piped about a tablespoon of frosting onto each brownie right before serving. If refrigerating frosting, make sure to take it out about 30 minutes-1 hour before piping to make sure it’s soft enough. This made so much frosting that I created little melt-away frosting mints afterwards.

Steeper Tara liked the frosting so much that she said that I could make her a vat of it for her birthday and then create a bow for the vat of frosting out of the frosting. So, yeah, I’d say these turned out pretty awesome!

Leave a Reply

