That Little Tart!

Bakewell TartNot so pretty, but dang it was tasty!  For our reading of The Tower, The Zoo, and the Tortoise, I decided to try my hand at a traditional English dessert that the ladies enjoy in the London Underground Lost Property Office: The Bakewell Tart.

It’s a bit of an interesting dish, kind of reminded me of the delicious berry cake thing I made for Mennonite in a Little Black Dress (just not quite as fantastic) in that it is a mish-mash of a couple different things.  Bakewell Tarts have a pie or pastry crust, jam layer (I used strawberry), and a cake-like layer with minced almonds in it.
Funny thing about my adventure with the tart was that I could not find my pie pan!  I looked everywhere . . . well clearly not everywhere since I found it in the drawer beneath my oven like a week later.  Thankfully, I had a pre-made graham cracker pie shell that had cracked in the package.  I dumped out the premade crust and filled the tin with my own!  A bit wasteful, I grant you, but I was on a deadline!
It turned out pretty tasty, though I think if I were to do it again, I would not bake it so long and I would definitely put more jam in it.  I might even serve it with some ice cream or whipped cream.  Oh well, it was fun to try something new!  You can check out a nice recipe for Bakewell Tart here: my favorite thing is that it’s in imperial measurements.  Like many librarians, I am not mathematically inclined so every British recipe I saw with metric measurements were immediately discounted.
Leave a Reply

