You Salty Dawg!

salted caramelFor our discussion of In the Heart of the Sea I made some scrumptious vanilla cupcakes with SALTED CARAMEL frosting.  They were amazing.  I put extra coarse sea salt on the tops too make them super salty!  My rationale, of course was that the sea is salty, etc.  It’s what I could come up with since the “food” the poor men of the Essex ate wasn’t stuff I was going to bring in for the group.  I thought, briefly, about doing hardtack, but why make something no one wants to eat?  Hence, these fantastic cupcakes!
Leave a Reply

