History of the World in Snickerdoodle Blondies

Deciding on a treat to make for History of the World in 100 Objects was tough!  Should I make something with historical impact (what dessert even has historical impact?  I seriously think they all do!) or perhaps something traditionally British since the book is a collection of items from the British Museum, or perhaps something with a good ole fashioned fall feel.

I narrowed it down to two options, Jammie Dodger cupcakes (I thought this would be great fun) or Snickerdoodle Blondies for some fall flavor.  I thought about something with pumpkin, but since everybody will be gorging themselves full of pumpkin pie next week (and since I abhor pumpkin) I thought I’d stick with the cinnamonny flavor.  Now, I would eat a snickerdoodle year round, but I decided it would be a nice and unique treat for our group.

It was.

Since there was only 5 of us in attendance, we each had more than we probably should have and the staff on duty (plus one sweet patron) got some and there were still leftovers for my husband and my mom.  Score!  I will absolutely make these again, but next time I will add some cinnamon into the batter … maybe even some cardamom for a Chai Blondie … oh yeah.  I will also bake them for approximately two minutes fewer than I did this time around.

snickerdoodle blondiesAnyway, if you love snickerdoodles, give this one a go:

SNICKERDOODLE BLONDIES

Ingredients:

2 2/3 c all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 c packed brown sugar (this is a whole-lotta brown sugar)

1 cup butter, softened (or at room temp)

2 eggs

1 Tbsp vanilla (that’s right a TABLESPOON of vanilla.  Which is a whole-lotta vanilla)

2 Tbsp granulated sugar

2 tsp ground cinnamon

To prepare:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Lightly grease a 9X13 baking dish.

2) Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt in a mediumish bowl.  Set aside.

3) Cream your butter using your fabulous kitchen aid mixer that was a gift from your sister-in-law … Don’t have one?  Sorry.  Guess my sister-in-law is just better than yours … your hand mixer will work just fine too.

4) Beat in eggs, brown sugar, and vanilla until light and fluffy.  (Mine was a little lumpy because my butter had not been at the ideal level of softness, but it still worked out just fine.)

5) Slowly mix in the flour mixture making sure each addition is fully incorporated.

6) Press mixture into the prepared pan.  Like, literally press it in with your fingers (wash ‘em first!) because trying to use a spatula isn’t going to cut it.  The dough’s pretty thick.

7) In a small bowl (I used a measuring cup) mix the granulated sugar and cinnamon together and sprinkle evenly over the top of the dough.  You can absolutely get by with less cinnamon and sugar, but seriously, do you want to?

8) Bake for about 25 minutes or until the top kinda springs up when you light push down on it (with clean fingers).  Let that sucker cool for a bit.  You can cut it into about 24 pieces while it’s still warm.

I baked them for approximately 26 minutes and I thought that was too long in my oven.  I’ve seen the recipe a couple of places, but adapted from the one at Real Mom Kitchen.

twinings 1As a pairing for this delightful treat, Miss Rachel provided some tasty cornbread.  The tea we drank was Twining’s loose English Breakfast (to go with the British Museum).  I love Twining’s English and their Irish Breakfast teas (so much so that I used the Irish as giveaways at my wedding), but make sure that you use a really fine mesh strainer as the pieces are teeny tiny.

Leave a Reply

