Swampy Treats

little key lime piesSince Swamplandia! takes place around the Florida Keys, I decided to try my hand some teeny-tiny key-lime pies.  There was a great debate over whether it should be served with or without meringue.  I got some fantastic responses … including:

“Confucius say, “When in doubt, meringue.” Or was that, “When in doubt, dance the merengue .”” (Thanks to my brother, Mike.)

“Meringue is like the cilantro of desserts.” (My best friend Karen who is NOT a fan of cilantro)

I decided (mostly because I’m indecisive) that I would do half with and half without meringue.  Then, when the pies came out of the oven, they weren’t terribly pretty, so I made them all with meringue!  (The next time I made it I also put in a drop of green food coloring to make them look super key-limey).

It was the right decision and they were quite tasty.  However, I learned that meringue sweats … who knew?!?

Also, when you knock the bowl over, everything gets messed up.  I found this delightful recipe in a great little recipe book called Mini Pies.

If you don’t want to buy the cookbook (which you should because . . . APPLE CHAI PIE!), you can find a fairly comparable key lime pie at allrecipes.com.
Our tea was Foggy Swamp Tribe from Adagio teas.  I have decided that I will no longer try to buy tea that ties to the book since I’m spending a fortune, but this one was very nice.  It was ugly looking tea (lots of branches), but it was quite tasty as it is a white tea blended with rose petals, pineapple, orange, mandarin, and coconut.

Apparently the Foggy Swamp Tribe has something to do with Avatar: The Last Airbender, but I chose it solely due to the use of the word “swamp.”  I am a giant nerd.

Yum!

Leave a Reply

